LIEN AGENT INFORMATION

Effective April 1, 2013

In accordance with North Carolina General Assembly Session Law 2012-158,
Inspection Departments are not allowed to issue any permit where the project cost
is $30,000 or more unless the application is for improvements to an existing
dwelling that the applicant uses as a residence OR the propetty owner has
designated a lien agent and provided the inspections office with the information

below:

Name of Lien Agent

Mailing address of Agent

Physical address of Agent

~ Telephone Fax

Email

The information will be attached to the permit record and a copy provided to the
applicant. The applicant is required to post a copy on the construction site.

Excerpt from North Carolina G.S. 160A-417:

“(Effective April 1,2013) No permit shall be issued pursuant to subdivision (1) of subsection (a) of
this section where the cost of the work is thirty thousand dollars ($30,000) or more, other than for
improvements to an existing single-family residential dwelling unit as defined in G.S, 87-15.5(7) that
the applicant uses as a residence, unless the name, physical and mailing address, telephone numaber,
facsimile number, and electronic mail address of the lien agent designated by the owner pursuant to
G.S. 44A-11.1(a) is conspicuously set forth in the permit or in an attachment thereto. The building
permmit may contain the lien agent's electronic mail address. The lien agent information for each
permit issued pursuant to this subsection shall be maintained by the inspection department in the
same manner and in the same location in which it maintains its record of building permits issued.”




INSTRUCTIONS TO PERMITTING QFFICES

(PER N.C, GEN. STAT. §§44A-11.1, 44A-11.2, 160A-417, 153A-357, and 87-14}

Effective April 1, 2013, North Carolina law will require that an owner (or, as typical with permit
applications, the contractor on their behalf) appoint a lien agent when they first contract for
improvements to real property, A lien agent is a title insurer or agent also registerad as a lfen agent with
the NC Department of Insurance.

However, the appointment Is not required for improvements:

(1) for which the costs of the undertaking-are less than 530,000, either at the time that the original
building permit Is issued or, In cases in which no building permit is required, at the time the
contract for the improvements is entered into with the owner,

(2) to an existing single-family residential dwelling unit as defined in G.S. 87-15.5(7) that is used by
the owner as a residence; or

(3} for which first furnishing of labor or materials at the site is prior to April 1, 2013,

The identification and contact information for the lien agent must be in 3 places:

{1} “conspicuously set forth in the permit or in an attachment thereto”

{2} Maintained in the inspection department “in the same manner and in the same [ocation in
which it maintains its record of huilding permits issued” and

(3) “conspicuously and continuously posted on the property for which the permit is issued until the
completion of all construction”

A website created specifically and solely for purposes of facilitating the filings of appeintments of lien
agents, the filing of notices to lien agents by potential lien claimants, and searching for these filings will
be available April 1, 2013, at www.liensnc.com. So when the owner (or contractor on their behalf)
appoints a lien agent through the LiensNC system, it will generate an Appointment of Lien Agent
document or form for the property and project, which will include the following information:

o Designated Lien Agent and contact information (c/o LiensNC)

e Unigue Entry or ldentifying number for the Project

s Owner and contact information

e Contractor (if one)

o Instructions for the owner and/or contractor to post at the property and provide to the
permitting office

e “QR Code” for easy access to the property information in the LiensNC system

The lien agent information form or document printed from the LiensNC website can be attached to the
building permit application and building permit, for it will include the required information the permit
office will need.

For further information regarding the LiensNC website, feel free to contact LiensNC, LLC, ¢/o Nancy
Ferguson, President, at Chicago Title Company, LLC, 800-445-9983 or Nancy.Ferguson@ctt.com.

April 1,2013

LIENSNC, LLC and LiensNC,com




APPENDIX D

AFFIDAVIT OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION COVERAGFE,
N.C.G.S. §87-14

The undersigned applicant for Building Permit # being the

Contractor

Owner

Officer/Agent of the Contractor or Owner

Do hereby aver under penalties of perjury that the person(s), firm(s) or corporation(s) performing
the work set forth in the permit:

has/have three (3) or more employees and have obtained workers’ compensation insurance
to cover them,

has/have one or more subcontractor(s) and have obtained workers’ compensation insurance
to cover them,

has/have one or more subcontractor(s) who has/have thier own policy of workmens’
compensation covering themselves,

has/have not more than two (2) employees and no subcontractors,
while working on the project for which this permit is sought. It is understood that the Inspection
Department issuing the permit may require certificates of coverage of workers, compensation
insurance prior to issuance of the permit and at any time during the permitted work fom any
person, firm or corporation carrying out the work.

Firm name:

By:

Title:

Date:




