LAW
Machinery Act of North Carolina

Per N.C. General Statute
105-277.1C

The first forty-five thousand dollars ($45,000) of
appraised value of a permanent residence owned and
occupied by an owner who is a North Carolina
resident and who is an honorably discharged disabled
veteran or the unmarried surviving spouse of an
honorably discharged disabled veteran is excluded
from taxation.

Only a person’s permanent legal residence is eligible.
Permanent residence is defined as the dwelling, the
dwelling site (not to exceed one acre), and related
improvements. The dwelling may be a single-family
residence, a unit in a multi-family residential
complex, or a manufactured home.

Proof of disability must be in the form of a certificate
from the Veterans Administration.

Social Security Number information is mandatory and
will be used to establish the identification of the
applicant, {42 U.S.C. Section 405(c)(2)(C)(i)}.

An owner who receives this exclusion MAY NOT
receive other property tax relief.
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QUALIFICATIONS FOR THE «+ One-time application required. The specially adapted housing from the United States

DISABLED VETERAN EXCLUSION County Tax Administrator’s Office Department of Veterans Affairs.
audits all exclusion accounts every four
_ _ years. At that time you will be asked to WHAT TYPES OF PROPERTY
«* Honorably Discharged Disabled Veteran. A complete an update to your application.
disabled veteran is defined as a veteran whose This update must be completed and ARE ELIGIBLE?
character of service at separation was honorable or returned to the County Tax
under honorable conditions and who has a total Administrator’s  Office  within the Only a disabled veteran’s permanent residence is
and permanent service-connected disability or requested time if you wish to continue in eligible. This includes the dwelling, the dwelling site
who received benefits for specially adapted the program. (not to exceed one acre), and related improvements.

housing under 38 U.S.C. 2101. The dwelling may be a single-family residence, a unit
in a multi-family residential complex, or a

<+ Unmarried surviving spouse (who has not manufactured home.

remarried) of either (1) a disabled veteran as
defined above, (2) a veteran who died as a result
of a service-connected condition whose character
of service at separation was honorable or under
honorable conditions, or (3) a service member
who died from a service-connected condition in
the line of duty and not as a result of willful

misconduct.
VETERAN DEFINED
«+ Exclusion: This program excludes up to the first
$45,000 of the appraised value of the permanent A veteran of any branch of the armed forces of MULTIPLE OWNERS
residence of a disabled veteran. the United States.
- Benefit limitations may apply when there are multiple
+* An owner who receives this exclusion MAY NOT PROOF OF VETERAN’S owners. Each owner must file a separate application
receive other property tax relief. DISABILITY (other than husband and wife). If eligible, each owner
The veteran should file Form NCDVA-9 may receive benefits under the Disabled Veteran
& No age requirement. (Certification for Disabled Veteran’s Property Exclusion or the Elderly or Disabled Exclusion. The
Tax Exclusion). This form must be certified by Circuit Breaker Property Tax Deferment cannot be
) ) the United States Department of Veterans combined with either of these two programs.
¢+ No income requirement. ;
Affairs.
This form cannot be certified by a local Veteran
<& AppIication_s may be timely fi!ed f[hrough June 1 Services offi_ce. A certification of disability form TEMPORARY ABSENCE
of the year in which the exclusion is requested. may be obtained from the County Tax
Administrator’s office.

< Untimely applications may be filed until the end

A qualifying owner does not lose the benefit of this

PR F OF SPECIALLY . .
of the calendar year, and may be a_pproved _by the OOF OF SPEC exclusion because of a temporary absence from his or
Board of Equalization & Review, if in session, or ADAPTED HOUSING her permanent residence for reasons of health or
by the Board of County _Commls.smners- upon because of an extended absence while confined to a
showing good cause for failure to timely file the The veteran should provide written proof that rest home or nursing home, so long as the residence is
application. benefits were received under 38 U.S.C. 2101 for unoccupied or occupied by the owner’s spouse or

other dependent.
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