Skip to content

Union County, North Carolina

Fire Marshal's Office

In the event of an emergency, call 911.

Fire Marshal's Office

Click on the map for information about fire department locations and districts.

How can I apply for a burning permit?

Burning permits can be obtained online through the North Carolina Forestry Service. Please contact our Emergency Communications Center at 704-289-1591 and let them know you have obtained a burn permit and will be burning.

How can I find out what I am allowed to burn?

In some areas of Union County, open burning is allowed under the regulations of the North Carolina Division of Air Quality; however in some areas, open burning is not allowed. Municipalities where open burning is prohibited are as follows: Monroe, Wingate, Marshville, Indian Trail, Waxhaw and Stallings. Reasons why open burning is prohibited in the aforementioned municipalities range from trash collection being provided to the municipality having an ordinance against open burning.

Open burning is allowed in the following areas of Union County, provided that you adhere to the regulations set forth by the Division of Air Quality: Fairview, Unionville, Hemby Bridge, Marvin, Mineral Springs, Weddington, Wesley Chapel and unincorporated Union County. The North Carolina Division of Air Quality maintains regulations on what can be burnt. If someone is burning something that you feel is not allowed, you can review the North Carolina Open Burning Regulations.

How can I help prevent fires?

There are many ways to prevent starting a fire, which include but are not limited to:

  • Schedule a fire inspection; call a member of the Fire Marshal's office
  • Always have portable fire extinguishers handy and know how to use them.
  • Make sure there are heat and smoke detectors throughout your residence and make sure the battery works for each one; remember to check the detectors monthly and change batteries every six months.

How can I establish an escape route in my home?

For information about planning an escape route in your home in case of fire, visit the FEMA website.

Union County provides public education programs at daycares, schools and businesses throughout the county. Contact any of the Fire Marshal’s Office staff for more information on upcoming events or to set up an event.

Volunteer Fire Departments

Station Name Chief Mailing Address Street Addrerss City, State Zipcode Phone Number Website
Allen's Crossroads Station 24 Chief David Smith 5408 White Store Rd. Wingate, NC 28174 704-624-5921
Bakers Station 19 Chief Junior Honeycutt 2116 Rocky River Rd. N. Monroe, NC 28110 704-289-2741
Beaver Lane Station 8 Chief Torranze Lee PO BOX 397 310 Olive Branch S.t Marshville, NC 28103 704-624-5550
Fairview Station 3 Chief Andy Williams 7402 Concord Hwy Monroe, NC 28110 704-753-1021
Griffith Road Station 13 Chief Ron Richardson 3310 Griffith Rd. Monroe, NC 28112 704-289-2214
Hemby Bridge Station 23 Chief Johnny Blythe 6628 Mill Grove Rd. Indian Trail, NC 28079 704-882-2100
Jackson Station 25 Chief Graham McManus 7201 Massey Rd. 6520 Marvin Fowler Rd. Waxhaw, NC 28173 704-363-5326
Lanes Creek Station 11 Chief Robert Sweatt 7608 Landsford Rd. Monroe, NC 28112 704-764-3900
New Salem Station 4,5,6, and 7 Chief John Mark Moore 6711 Hwy 218 E. Marshville, NC 28103 704-385-9619
Sandy Ridge Station 12 Chief Mike Lathan 5010 Plyler Mill Rd. Monroe, NC 28112 704-764-3308
Springs Station 15 and 16 Chief Don Gaddy PO BOX 26 5804 Waxhaw Hwy Mineral Springs, NC 28108 704-843-3189
Stallings Station 20 Chief Charlie Porter PO BOX 940 4616 Old Monroe Rd. Indian Trail, NC 28079 704-821-7100
Stack Road Station 14 Chief Monny Taylor 1900 Stack Rd. Monroe, NC 28112 704-764-7173
Unionville Station 21 and 22 Chief Ken Brown 4919 Unionville Rd. Monroe, NC 28110 704-283-6988
Waxhaw Station 18 and 27 Chief Greg Sharp PO BOX 1258 3500 Waxhaw Pkwy Waxhaw, NC 28173 704-843-4001
Wesley Chapel Station 26, 31, and 43 Chief Steven McLendon 315 Waxhaw Indian Trail Rd. S. Waxhaw, NC 28173 704-843-3367
Wingate Station 9 Chief Travis Stegall PO BOX 404 204 N. Main St. Wingate, NC 28174 704-233-4137
Log in to keep track of your favorite resources.

Contact Information

Kevin Rigoli
Fire Marshal
500 North Main St., Ste 809
Monroe, NC 28112

Phone: 704-296-4296

Additional Contact Information

Jon Williams
Deputy Fire Marshal
Phone: 704-283-3515

Wyatte McBryde
Assistant Fire Marshal
Phone: 704-296-4298

Zeb Mullis
Assistant Fire Marshal
Phone: 704-283-3725

About the Fire Marshal's Office

The Union County Fire Marshal’s Office has a primary responsibility of enforcing the North Carolina Fire Prevention Code that requires commercial occupancies be inspected on an arranged schedule depending on the occupancy type. In addition, the Fire Marshal’s Office handles safety concerns reported by the public and reviews building plans and fire protection equipment. During the building process, we work closely with our Building Code Enforcement Division. The Fire Marshal’s Office also conducts investigations into the origin and cause of fires. During investigations we may work with a number of different agencies that include: local Fire Departments, Sheriff’s Office, local Police Departments, North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation and the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives. We are a partner in the Union County Safe Kids Coalition, which provides a variety of safety training and activities throughout the year.