
LAW 
Machinery Act of N.C. 

 
Per N.C. General Statute 

105-277.1B 
 

Only a person’s permanent legal residence is eligible.  
Permanent residence includes the dwelling, the 
dwelling site, not to exceed one acre, and related 
improvements.  The dwelling may be a single-family 
residence, a unit in a multi-family residential complex, 
or a manufactured home. 
 
Until a disqualification event occurs, the deferred taxes 
will not become due.  Since income can vary from 
year to year it is possible that you may qualify one 
year, but not the next, and then requalify in a 
subsequent year.  The homestead circuit breaker 
requires a new application to be submitted every year. 
 
An annual application for the Circuit Breaker may be 
timely filed up to and through June 1 of the year in 
which the deferment is claimed. 
 
When property is owned by multiple owners (other 
than husband and wife), every owner must meet the 
qualifications and elect to defer the taxes under the 
Circuit Breaker program. 

 
Proof of disability must be in the form of a certificate 
from a physician licensed to practice medicine in 
North Carolina or from a government agency 
authorized to determine disability. 

 
A disability letter from the Social Security 
Administration cannot be accepted as proof of 
disability, unless the letter meets the statutory 
requirements. 

 
Social Security Number information is mandatory and 
will be used to establish the identification of the 
applicant,{42 U.S.C Section 405(c)(2)(C)(i)}. 
 
 

UNION COUNTY 
 

        
 
 
 
 
 
 

MAILING ADDRESS: 
Union County Tax Administrator’s Office 

P.O. Box 97 
Monroe, NC  28111 

Attention:  Homestead 
 
 
 

PHYSICAL ADDRESS: 
Union County Government Center 

500 N. Main St., Suite 236 
Monroe, NC  28112 

 
 
 

WEB ADDRESS: 
www.co.union.nc.us 

 
 
 

TELEPHONE NUMBER: 
704-283-3746 

 
 
 

FAX NUMBER: 
704-292-2588 

 
 

2014 
      Homestead 

      Circuit Breaker 
      Tax Deferment 

      Program 
 
 

     
 
 
 
       

      Tax Administrator’s Office 
      Union County 

        P.O. Box 97 
         Monroe, NC 28111 

 
 
 
 

      Property Tax Relief for 
      Elderly  

      or 
      Permanently Disabled 

      Persons 
 

 The deferred taxes are a LIEN on 



your property. 
 

 The Homestead Circuit Breaker is the 
deferral of property taxes that exceed a 
tax limitation.  This tax deferment 
program is for NC residents who meet 
all of the qualifications for the 
Homestead Exclusion plus they have 
lived in and owned their current 
residence for at least five years. 

 
 Interest accrues on deferred taxes as if 

they had been payable on the dates on 
which they would have originally 
become due. 

 
 An annual application is required. 

 
 Upon a disqualifying event, the last 

three years of deferred taxes plus 
interest become due and payable. 

 
 

OWNERSHIP REQUIREMENTS 
 

 Must be a North Carolina resident 
AND 

 Must be at least 65 years of age or 
totally and permanently disabled on or 
before January 1 of current year 

AND 
 Must have owned and occupied a 

permanent residence for FIVE (5) 
consecutive years as of January 1 of 
current year 

AND 
 2014 Applicants: 

2013 income cannot exceed $42,900 
 

2014 
INCOME LIMITATIONS 

2013 Income =  
$0 - $28,600 

Taxes are 4%  
of total income 

2013 Income =  
$28,601 - $42,900 

Taxes are 5%  
of total income 

2013 Income =  
Over $42,900 Does Not Qualify 

 
INCOME TO BE INCLUDED: 

Wages – Social Security – Disability – SSI – VA 
Benefits – Pensions – Railroad Retirement 

Annuities – Interest – Dividends – IRA 
Distributions – 401K & 457 Distributions – 

Worker’s Compensation – Alimony –  
Foster Care Payments – Unemployment – 

Rental, Business, Farm & Gambling Income –  
Capital Gain……Etc. 

 
ESTIMATED DEFERRED TAX 

WORKSHEET 
(A) 2014 Tax on Residence 
       (Estimated) 
       Dwelling & up to 1 acre of land = (A) $ 
(B) Tax Limitation 

2013 Income: $0 - $28,600 X 4% =  
(OR) 

2013 Income: $28,601 - $42,900 X 5% = (B)-$ 
(C) Estimated Deferred Tax 

Subtract Box (B) from Box (A) (C) $ 
 
If (A) is NOT greater than (B), then you do 
not qualify for the Circuit Breaker. 
 

 
If your 2013 income was $28,600 or less you 
may qualify for the Elderly or Permanently 
Disabled Persons Exclusion, which is a 
separate program.  See Elderly Exclusion 
information. 

 
 
 

 
A qualified owner does not lose the benefit 
of this deferment because of a temporary 
absence from their permanent residence 
for reasons of health, or because of an 
extended absence while confined to a rest 
home or nursing home, so long as the 
residence is unoccupied or occupied by the 
owner’s spouse or other dependent. 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 
 Death of Owner {exception: 

property passes to co-owner or 
spouse} 

 Transfer of Property {exception: 
transferred to co-owner or spouse 
(divorced)} 

 Owner ceases to use the property as 
a permanent residence 

 

TEMPORARY ABSENCE 

DISQUALIFYING EVENTS 

Upon a Disqualifying Event, the last 
three years of deferred taxes plus interest 
become due and payable. 


